‘Nightbirde’ has a Beautiful Message to Everyone

Especially to those who think their lives are done

JJ Sum
4 min readJun 12, 2021
Nightbirde when Simon Cowell pressed the Golden Buzzer

I just watched Nightbirde’s audition at America’s Got Talent and was instantly moved by her story.

Who is Nightbirde?

Her real name is Jane Marczewski. She is from Zanesville, California, USA. She is a singer with a very comforting voice and a songwriter who writes intelligent and motivating songs.

What made her stand out from the others?

Jane has been fighting cancer since 2017. She was diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer but because of her strong fighting spirit and positive personality, she was able to win the battle

However, her positivity was challenged as she suffered from cancer again.

Before she went on to sing her own song titled, “It’s Okay” which was absolutely a remarkable performance, AGT Judge Simon Cowell asked her, “How are you now?” Then Jane calmly answered, “Last time I checked I had some cancer in my spine, my lungs, and my liver.”

For a few seconds, the four judges were speechless until AGT Judge Howie Mandel said, “So you’re… not okay?” And with a smile, Jane replied, “Oh no. Not in every way, no.”

--

--

JJ Sum

A wife, mom of 3, & a TEFL certified tutor. I write about Mothering, Family, Relationships, Remote work topics, and Trending matters.